Database passwords for off-campus access
Through the use of an innovative interface, and multicultural and global content, World History in Context covers the events that shaped the world.ABC-CLIO Social Studies:
An outstanding set of databases on U.S. and world history (ancient and modern) with topic overviews, primary sources. Also includes U.S. and World Geography, Issues (pro/con topics), World at at War, American Government, Daily Life Through History, and Pop Culture Universe, Modern Genocide and World Religions.
Gale Research in Context
Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
ABC-CLIO World Folklore and Folklife: A collection of thousands of international folk and fairy tales. Original texts, translations, and analysis relating to topics as varied as literature, gender roles, and cultural studies.
Science and Social studies content at multiple reading levels. FOR REMOTE USE: YOU MUST MAKE A PERSONAL ACCOUNT ON CAMPUS before trying remote access
Choose your own search: GREAT GRAD CHALLENGE STARTING POINT!
Gale PowerSearch: Comprehensive database for magazine, journal, and newspaper articles. PowerSearch searches multiple Gale databases at once.
Opposing Viewpoints: Get both sides of the issue: opinions, overviews of issues, reference sources, statistics, websites, and more.
Small Business Resource Center: Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, "how-to” guides, articles and websites.
Global Issues in Context: Get world news and international perspectives on current issues and conflicts affecting our world.
This database includes up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world
Look up authoritative information on diseases, health conditions, and treatments.
Biography in Context: Biographies of more than 500,000 individuals gleaned from periodicals reference sources and multimedia content.
LegalTrac: Find articles on Constitutional Law, Civil Rights, and Criminal Justice from a range of legal journals, newspapers, and law reviews.
Career Transitions: An online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process. Discover career interests, prepare a resume and cover letter, brush up on networking, interviewing and negotiating skills.
Gale Science in Context:
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Searchable database of 17 newspapers containing scanned images of the actual pages dating back to 1764.
Start here for information on any science-related topic
Gale U.S. History in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.
ProQuest Learning Literature: One-stop shopping for all your English class needs. Authors, poetry, literary works, literary analysis, and more. (Check out the KnowledgeNotes Study Guides for major literary works.)
Powerspeak Languages: Online language training. Currently you can learn Spanish, French, Mandarin, German, and ESL Spanish, with more languages to come in 2011. Patrons set up an individual account.
Chilton Library.com - Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself People